Thursday, February 26, 2009
You can now get a copy of the new 2009-2012 Case Book. I'll keep a link on the side bar for your use.
For the fun of it I've posted the old and new Case 75 that is key to the understanding of new Rule 18. Take a look at the two and see how the new rule works as compared to the old. The outcome is the same but there are some differences to note.
Tuesday, February 24, 2009
Answer the questions as a starting mark as given in the question, then answer the same questions assuming it is a finish mark.
This scenario was right out of the case book. I've attached ISAF Case 28 from the 2009-2012 Cases for your reference, and it explains the rules involved better than I could. As for the case where it is a finish, Rule 18 does not apply per 18.1(a) since they are on opposite tacks on a beat to windward.
Thursday, February 12, 2009
Well our fleet has gone sailing and not giving answers, any takers on the following: This situation is changed to a downwind finish. Answer the same questions.
The point of this exercise was to think about how the rules and result are different when Rule 18 doesn't apply when approaching the starting mark surrounded by navigable water when approaching to start, and when you apply Rule 18 when it is a finish mark. You should have noticed that the resulting boat being DSQ can be different in the 2 cases depending on the facts. Let's look at this again with the next scenario.
Sunday, February 8, 2009
1. At position 1 who is entitled to mark-room?
2. At Position 6 who is entitled to mark-room?
3. At Position 7 what rule(s) does Blue break?
4. At Position 7 what rule(s) does Yellow break?
5. Who should be DSQ: Yellow, Blue, Neither, Both?
Monday, February 2, 2009
I've add ISAF Case 75 for reference. I have it on good authority that this will be in the new case book with updated rule citations.
At 3 boat lengths Yellow is overlapped inside Blue on a course directly to the mark. At position 2, Yellow heads up slightly to make more room to round wider and sail close hauled at the mark. At position 3 Blue hails Protest! You’re taking too much room! At position 4 as Yellow gybes her stern swings into Blue’s boom. There is no damage or injury as a result of the contact, but Yellow’s daughter, who is crewing, nearly has a heart attack and vows never to sail with her father again unless there is money involved!
1. At position 1 who has right of way?
2. At Position 3 what rule(s) does Yellow break?
3. At Position 4 what rule(s) does Blue break?
4. At Position 4 what rule(s) does Yellow break?
5. What Rule limits the room Yellow can take?
6. Who should be DSQ: Yellow, Blue, Neither, Both?
7. What redress is Yellow entitled for his daughter’s psychological 'damage'?
I've moved the intended answers to the comments to save space.
Sunday, February 1, 2009
If you are a member of US Sailing you can download a copy of the new appeals at http://www.ussailing.org/appeals/ If you are not a member of US Sailing, but a member of our Star fleet, contact me and I'll get you a copy of the appeals.
After reading the appeals above answer the following questions: