Thursday, February 26, 2009

CASE BOOK NOW READY!



You can now get a copy of the new 2009-2012 Case Book. I'll keep a link on the side bar for your use.

For the fun of it I've posted the old and new Case 75 that is key to the understanding of new Rule 18. Take a look at the two and see how the new rule works as compared to the old. The outcome is the same but there are some differences to note.

Tuesday, February 24, 2009

Rule 18 Scenario 6



Answer the questions as a starting mark as given in the question, then answer the same questions assuming it is a finish mark.

This scenario was right out of the case book. I've attached ISAF Case 28 from the 2009-2012 Cases for your reference, and it explains the rules involved better than I could. As for the case where it is a finish, Rule 18 does not apply per 18.1(a) since they are on opposite tacks on a beat to windward.

Thursday, February 12, 2009

Rule 18 Scenario 5

Let's see how the rules work with a down wind start.

Well our fleet has gone sailing and not giving answers, any takers on the following: This situation is changed to a downwind finish. Answer the same questions.

The point of this exercise was to think about how the rules and result are different when Rule 18 doesn't apply when approaching the starting mark surrounded by navigable water when approaching to start, and when you apply Rule 18 when it is a finish mark. You should have noticed that the resulting boat being DSQ can be different in the 2 cases depending on the facts. Let's look at this again with the next scenario.

Sunday, February 8, 2009

Rule 18 Scenario 4

At 3 boat lengths Blue is overlapped inside Yellow on a course directly to the mark. At position 2, Blue heads up slightly to make more room to make a tactical rounding. At position 4 as Blue heads down to gybe Yellow heads up to pass head to wind and tack. At position 6 Yellow hails, “I NEED ROOM!” and Blue hails, “NO ROOM!” At position 7 there is contact between Yellow and Blue and Yellow hits the mark. There is no damage or injury as a result of the contact.

1. At position 1 who is entitled to mark-room?
2. At Position 6 who is entitled to mark-room?
3. At Position 7 what rule(s) does Blue break?
4. At Position 7 what rule(s) does Yellow break?
5. Who should be DSQ: Yellow, Blue, Neither, Both?

Monday, February 2, 2009

Rule 18 Scenario 3



I've add ISAF Case 75 for reference. I have it on good authority that this will be in the new case book with updated rule citations.


At 3 boat lengths Yellow is overlapped inside Blue on a course directly to the mark. At position 2, Yellow heads up slightly to make more room to round wider and sail close hauled at the mark. At position 3 Blue hails Protest! You’re taking too much room! At position 4 as Yellow gybes her stern swings into Blue’s boom. There is no damage or injury as a result of the contact, but Yellow’s daughter, who is crewing, nearly has a heart attack and vows never to sail with her father again unless there is money involved!


1. At position 1 who has right of way?

2. At Position 3 what rule(s) does Yellow break?

3. At Position 4 what rule(s) does Blue break?

4. At Position 4 what rule(s) does Yellow break?

5. What Rule limits the room Yellow can take?

6. Who should be DSQ: Yellow, Blue, Neither, Both?

7. What redress is Yellow entitled for his daughter’s psychological 'damage'?


I've moved the intended answers to the comments to save space.

Sunday, February 1, 2009

New Appeals Are Published



Although ISAF has not published the cases yet, US Sailing has published their appeals updated for the 2009-2012 rules. These appeals complement the ISAF Cases but they only have standing in the US, although I'm sure others use them as well. Until ISAF publishes their case book these are the most definitive interpretation of the rules that we have. Above I've posted Appeal 20 both old and new. This is similar to our scenario 2. Read the two cases and you will see how the rules have changed in nuance, but not in the result on the water. Also note the difference in the Rule 14 determination in the two decisions.

If you are a member of US Sailing you can download a copy of the new appeals at http://www.ussailing.org/appeals/ If you are not a member of US Sailing, but a member of our Star fleet, contact me and I'll get you a copy of the appeals.

After reading the appeals above answer the following questions:

1. How are the facts the same or different between Appeal 20 and Scenario 2?

2. Does this appeal impact how you would decide the case in scenrio 2?

Friday, January 30, 2009

Rule 18 Scenario 2


Facts of the Scenario:
At 3 boat lengths Yellow is overlapped with Blue. Blue is sailing on a course toward the mark. She continues on this course until she reaches 2 boat lengths and then turns down to give room to Yellow at the mark. At position 3 Yellow turns down to sail to the mark and her boom makes contact with Blue. They round the mark without further contact.

1. At position 2 who has right of way
2. At position 2 what rule(s), if any, does Blue break
3. At position 2 what rules(s), if any, does Yellow break
4. At position 3 who has right of way
5. At position 3 what rule(s), if any, does Blue break
6. At position 3 what rule(s), if any, does Yellow break
7. Who should be DSQ; Blue, Yellow, neither

In response to Dick's comments and to stimulate conversation about Rule 14, I add the following facts to the scenario: Yellow's boom hit Blue's hull scratching it, requiring buffing to remove the scratch.

Does this constitute damage requiring disqualification under Rule 14? If yes, who should be disqualified? If no, why not?

Thursday, January 29, 2009

Rule 18 Scenario 1 Poll

Okay it's time to decide this case. Vote on how you would decide this case in the poll on the sidebar.

1. DSQ Yellow

2. DSQ Blue

3. DSQ Both

4. DSQ Neither

Saturday, January 24, 2009

Rule 18 Scenario 1




I am going to post a series of Rule 18 Scenarios to highlight some of the issues to think about at the leeward mark. There are no cases published yet, so we will need to rely on what we have been told by Dick Rose at the seminar and the paper he has published for the correct way of interpreting new Rule 18. I have emailed the paper to you all. For those of you that did not get a copy of the paper, I've added a link to it on the side bar.

Here are the facts of this scenario:
Blue, Green and Yellow are sailing on starboard tack toward the leeward mark to be left to Starboard. The waves 1-2 feet, and the wind is 10 knots. When Green and Blue reach the zone Green is overlapped inside Blue and Yellow is not overlapped with either boat. At position 3 Yellow is sailing with more speed, sees a space and moves inside Blue. At position 4 Blue luffs head to wind to stay out of Greens bad air and to “close the door” on Yellow. Yellow immediately responds to avoid Blue, but is forced into the mark and Blue is forced to bear away to avoid contact with Yellow. Blue protests Yellow for breaking Rule 18.2(b) and Rule 11. Yellow protests Blue for breaking Rule 16.1.

How do you decide this case?



A good discussion and I will summarize the issues and give you how I would decide it based on the facts in the Scenario.


1. You should notice that there is a major change in the rules that applies to this scenario. Under the old rules rule 16 did not apply to a right of way boat that was changing course to round a mark (Rule 18.2(d)). In this case the right of way boat is Blue and she changed course head to wind to round the mark so Rule 16 didn’t apply under the old rules. Yellow would be DSQ under Rule 11 because she forced Blue to bear away to avoid her and she was not entitled to room by Rule 18.2(b). There was no need to discuss proper course because the rule was just turned off. The new rule has a new Section 18.5 Exoneration that says a boat will be exonerated by part (b), “if, by rounding the mark on her proper course, she breaks a rule of Section A or Rule 15 or 16.” Now you need to determine if the boat was rounding to her proper course to be exonerated for breaking a rule of Section A or rule 15 and 16.


2. Did Blue break Rule 16? Rule 16.1 says, “When a right-of-way boat changes course, she shall give the other boat room to keep clear. Room is, “The space a boat needs in the existing conditions while maneuvering promptly in a seaman like way.” When Blue forces Yellow into the mark Yellow was not able to maneuver in a seaman like way so clearly Blue breaks rule 16.1.


3. Did Blue sail her proper course? Because Blue was clearing her air I believe this can be considered her proper course and she should be exonerated by Rule 18.5. If you take Green out of the scenario, I would not exonerate Blue under 18.5 because luffing head to wind can not then be justified as a proper course.


4. This last issue was pointed out to me by my 13 year old daughter. Wasn't Yellow compelled to break the rules by Blue’s breach of 16.1, so shouldn’t she then be exonerated by 64.1(c)? Has my daughter found a flaw with the new rule structure of not turning off certain rules but just exonerating a boat for a breach of the rules? I frankly can’t find a way out of this. Anyone else have any ideas? perhaps 64.1 needs to be rewritten so as not to apply 64.1(c) when the other boat is exonerated by another rule.


My decision, until convinced otherwise, is to exonerate both Blue and Yellow. Blue under 18.5 and Yellow under 64.1(c).


I have been convinced that Yellow still breaks 18.2 (b) and cannot be exonerated under 64.1(c) for that. She can be exonerated for hitting the mark but would still be DSQ for 18.2(b). And, if we decided Blue didn't sail her proper course then Blue would be DSQ for 16.1 and Yellow would not have broken 18.2(b) and would be exonerated under 64.1(c) for hitting the mark. Oh well it was fun while it lasted.


Wednesday, January 21, 2009

Rules Quiz #5

I posted this quiz to highlight a change in the rules. If you were not aware 17.2 is deleted in the new rules. This rule didn't allow yellow to sail below her proper course. Therefore, under the old rules at both position 2 and position 5 yellow would have broken old rule 17.2. As I think this scenario demonstrates this rule is completely unnecessary. There are plenty of rules to protect the leeward/clear astern boat on a run. I can honestly say I routinely ignored 17.2 coming into a leeward mark when trying to make sure there was no overlap at the zone.
As for the correct answer all were correct that Yellow should be DSQ. I think the writers of the question failed to give us an important piece of information. Was there an overlap established when yellow turned down between positions 4 and 5? Since the question did not indicate an overlap, I would say technically the correct answer is Yellow breaks Rule 16.1, and Blue breaks Rule 12 and is exonerated. However, practically looking at the diagram it is hard to see how yellow can turn down as she did and not create an overlap. So a Rule 11 violation for Yellow and 16.1 for Blue with Blue being exonerated, is also a reasonable answer. Either way Yellow is DSQ and Blue is exonerated.

Friday, January 16, 2009

Rules Quiz #4








I think this has been an interesting discussion the answers given by Dick and Brass were spot on. We all have to remember that although they haven't defined continuing obstruction, they have defined what it is not, "a vessel underway including a boat racing is never a continuing obstruction". This has changed a few things in the rules and some of the cases and appeals will need to be updated for this change. Under the old rules Vicky's interpretation could have been correct with yellow being a continuing obstruction. But, not with the new definition of obstruction.

If you get a chance go to the SA post by Brass. It is evident that the way that rule 20 is now structured has many confused as to what are the responsibilities of the hailed boat when there is an improper hail. In the old rules the rule didn't apply in certain circumstances and the hailed boat could safely ignore the hail without breaking the rule in those cases. This does not appear to be true any more. It seems that the hailed boat must respond to the improper hail and then protest. I assume this was changed due to concerns over safety if the hail is ignored.

Bring your questions to the seminar tomorrow and we'll see what insight Dick Rose can give us.

I've posted a case and an appeal for a response to Dick's comment.


Wednesday, January 14, 2009

Meeting Notes/Bill Receiving US Sailing Leadership Award




Bill Honored by US Sailing
Bill Received the US Sailing Leadership award. You can go to Tugboat Annie's to view the award in the trophy case.

Bill Buchan wrote a nice letter that Steve read at the presentation. Go to the link below to read it.


Meeting Notes
On Wednesday January 14th we had a meeting to discuss the upcoming season. We had to relocate the meeting to the TYLI conference room due to a scheduling conflict with the Viewpoint Room at Westbay. The following is an outline of the discussion:

1. Schedule - A proposal was made to modify the racing schedule to race every Monday rather than the current alternating Monday-Thursday schedule. The first race will be Monday May 4th with two series running concurrently so that on alternate Mondays will be different series. If you can't make it every week you can pick a series to attend on alternate Mondays. The motion passed and the racing schedule will be modified on the SSSS website.

2. Race Fee - A proposal was brought to charge a $20 race fee to help cover the cost of race management. The fee is to be paid by the end of the first series or you will not be scored in the series. It would be preferable to pay the race fee at the launch. The treasurer (Myra) will collect the fee. The motion passed.

3. Launching and Moorage - There will be two launch dates the last week in March and 2 weeks later April 11th. The Launch fee is $25 and the moorage fee is $25/month ($150 for the summer). Same as last year, what a bargain!!

4. Black Star - Myra will be heading up the effort for the Black Star again and the first meeting will be January 26th at George and Betty Hanson's house. The raffle will be scaled back this year because of the effort involved, and she would like to raffle some items at the SSSS meetings and just have a few nice items to raffle at the Regatta. Jack De Meyer as offered to do RC again this year. Thanks Jack!! We have had some ideas floated for the T-shirts, and we need them brought to the first meeting for discussion.

5. Districts - BISF is hosting the Star District Championships this year on August 8th and 9th. We are going to make it similar to the Black Star with various divisions. Awards will be given for each division, but to be eligible for the district championship you will need to meet the requirements of the class. Derek was concerned about the wind in August and Bill appointed him wind czar for the regatta. An organizing committee will be formed later this year after the Black Star.

6. Sailing Instructions - Without objections the sailing instructions will remain essentially the same as last year with the Rules being changed to the current RRS 2009-12.

7. Sailing Instruction - Some indicated that they would like to have another sailing clinic and perhaps something once a month like the video that John Thompson showed last year. Norm will try to arrange the Visser Clinic again this year, and we will try to get something for February and March.

Please comment if you have anything to add to the notes

Friday, January 9, 2009

Rules Quiz #3

This is a typical situation. Let's see how the new rules apply and if there are any game changers. There is one additional question I would like to add.

7. At position 3 who has right of way White or Blue?

If you got your new rule book you will have noticed that there are some important differences in the structure of the rules at marks. In the old rules your position was set at the zone but the rule didn't turn on until you were "about to round or pass the mark" and room was only defined as the room necessary to pass the mark. Now mark-room is defined as "room to sail to the mark and to sail your proper course at the mark" and the rule is turned on when the first boat reaches the zone (which is now 3 boat lengths) not when you are about to round or pass a mark. So as an outside boat, the requirements for providing mark-room starts much earlier in the rounding in the new rules.

Another important difference is that previously the rules of Part C took precedence over the rules of Parts A and B (read the preamble to part C in the old rules). This is no longer the case. In effect the rules in Part C now act more like limitations to the right of way boat rather than changing who has right of way. In this way the Part C rules now act more like the Rules in Part B. This is semantics in some ways, but it makes the new rules more consistent than the old Part C rules.

I think in the end most got the correct answers. I've posted Case 59 that covers the situation in this quiz for your reference. Note that the cases have not yet been published for the new rules so the rules called out in the case are for the old rules.


Here are my "official" answers to the quiz:

1. No - Orange reaches the zone and White does not have an overlap so White must give Orange mark-room per rule 18.2(b).

2. Yes - White has is overlapped with Blue when she reaches the zone so Blue must give mark-room to White.

3. Yes - Same reason as 2 above.

4. Blue - Green is clear astern at position 2 so by Rule 12 Blue has right of way.

5. Blue - Green is overlapped to windward of Blue at position 3, so by Rule 11 Blue has right of way.

6. No - Green must give Blue mark-room because there was no overlap at the zone so she better be careful to give Blue room to sail her proper course at the mark.

7. Blue - Blue is leeward boat and has right of way by Rule 11. But she
is limited by Rule 18.2(b) and must give mark-room to White.

Monday, January 5, 2009

Rules Quiz #2




This was an interesting question because of the part that said that Yellow admitted to breaking the rules purposely to help her position. This is a clear violaton of Rule 2, Fair Sailing. Also, as Dave pointed out Rule 41.1(b) is pretty clear that if you break a rule and it gives you an advantage, then you must retire. So in this case Yellow breaks Rules 2, 11 and 41.1(b) and should be disqualified with the score not being excluded from her series score (DNE). Vickie’s Answers were spot on.


Now to the question of Rule 69 and “Gross Misconduct”; Case 65 demonstrates what is required to constitute a violation of Rule 69. In Case 65 the individual knowingly broke a rule and went out of their way to hurt another competitor. I’ve Posted Case 65 for your reference. Rule 69 involves a serious allegation of cheating, which I do not think is applicable in this case.


The other outstanding question is if we can we take a scoring penalty in our Star Racing. The answer is no. The Scoring Penalty must be specified in the Sailing Instructions to be in effect (read Rule 44.1). Also our SI specifies the “Two-Turns Penalty” for a violation of the rules of Part 2 (read Section 10 of our SI).


Sunday, December 28, 2008

Rules Quiz #1











To get you all ready for the for the Dick Rose Rules Seminar on January 21st, I will post a series of questions from US sailing Judges test. Click on the question to make it larger.




Post your answers or questions for discussion as a comment, and I'll post the "Official" answers after you have had a chance to ponder the questions. Down load the new rules using the link to the right.


Answers


  1. Green: Green is on starboard, Blue on port Green has right of way. Rules 11 or 12 don’t apply because they are not on the same tack.

  2. Green: For the same reason as in question 1 Green has right of way over Yellow.

  3. Yellow: Both Yellow and Blue are on port tack so rule 11 applies between them. At position 3 Yellow is leeward boat because she is on the same side as Blue’s mainsail. The trick going down wind is look at the side the mainsail is on, and that is the boat’s leeward side. This is in the definitions given in the RRS.

  4. Blue breaks two Rules: 10 and 14. She doesn’t keep clear of Green who is on starboard (Rule 10) and she doesn’t avoid contact with Green (Rule 14). Blue doesn't break Rule 11 only because Green is in the way.

  5. Yellow breaks the same 2 rules.

  6. Green breaks Rule 14 avoiding contact. However, it’s hard to see what she could have done to avoid the contact. She will be not be penalized per Rule 14(b) because there was no damage or injury, or she would be exonerated per 64.1(b) even if there was damage or injury.

  7. Both Yellow and Blue should be disqualified.


One of you felt Rule 19.2 applied to Blue. This is an interesting question. However, Rule 19.2 does not apply in this case because Yellow is not an "obstruction" to both Green and Blue she is only an "obstruction" to Blue. Read the definition of obstruction to see how a boat racing is an obstruction. If the question was changed so that both Yellow and Blue were on the same side of Green, then Rule 19 would apply between Yellow and Blue. Think about how the Rules are different between Yellow and Blue depending on which side of Green they are.



Yellow and Blue didn’t “break” Rule 44.1 because you are never required to take a penalty, although you are allowed to exonerate yourself by doing so.



If I were Yellow or Blue in this case, I would gybe to starboard before Green is overlapped. Green is not in such a good position then. If you are Blue you would have right of way over both Yellow and Green, and if you are Yellow Green would be limited to her proper course by Rule 17 provided you gybe before Green is overlapped. If you gybe after Green is overlapped, then the limitations of Rule 17 do not apply to Green, so gybe early if you are Yellow.


Tuesday, November 11, 2008

Star Hats

Judy is wearing one of the new Star baseball caps Sherwood and Judy have acquired. They ordered them from an embroidery business in Bend, OR.

These are really good quality caps, with which we have previous experience, and which are a pleasure to wear on or off the boat; perhaps other members of the fleet might feel the same.

The cost is $19.00 apiece, plus shipping, for an order of two caps, though the price on a group order would drop proportionally to the number of caps ordered. For example, an order of 12 caps would drop the price to about $16.00 each, plus shipping, an order of 24 to about $15.00 each, and an order of 36 to $14.00 each. Your cap number would be individualized to your hull number. Hats are available in a variety of colors, and the embroidery color could be changed to match the hat color.

Colors Include:
Black, Cardinal, Forest, Gold, Lilac, Lime, Maize, Maroon, Moss, Navy, Olive, Orange, Plum, Pottery, Red, Sage, Sky, Steel Green, Stone, Storm blue, White

Two Tones:
(Crown / Visor)

Forest / Black
; Metro Blue / Stone; Navy / Stone; Olive / Stone; Sage / Black; Stone / Navy; Stone / Plum; Stone / Olive; Stone / Black; Stone / Steel Green; Stone / Storm Blue

The website for eye-of-the-needle with the Harbor style caps is: http://www.driftcreekoutdoors.com/headwear_classics.html


Let us know if you would like to make an order for hats. We will determine the cost after we know how may to order. Leave a comment with the number of hats and the particulars of color, etc.

Friday, October 31, 2008

Celebration for Barb

Come and Celebrate Barb's Life

Date and Time
Sunday December 14th
Between 1:00 – 4:00 PM

Logistics
Barb’s celebration will be potluck, so please bring one of the following:
1) main dish
2) side dish (salad, desert, appetizer, etc.)
3) beverage (beer, wine, soda, etc.)

Location
Carlyon Beach Homeowners Association Club House
2719 Island Drive NW
Olympia, WA 98502

Directions to Carlyon Beach Club House
From I-5 take exit 104 (Hwy 101 N toward Aberdeen/Port Angeles).
Go approximately 6 miles on Hwy 101. (At the junction Hwy 101 and Why 8 stay right on Hwy 101).
Take the Steamboat Island Rd. turn off (This is the first exit after the highways split).
Go left at the T and proceed past the 76 station and Tavern (on the right) stay on this road until you come to a Stop/Yield sign.
At the Stop/Yield sign, go right. This is now Steamboat Island Rd NW.
Stay on Steamboat Island road for approximately 8 to 9 miles.
Take a right on Island Drive (just after the speed limit drops to 20 mph)
Parking is available at the club house parking lot, which is at the uphill side of the Park (the park will be on your left)

Note: If you want to come by boat from Olympia, guest moorage is available.

Thanks,
Jenny


On the crisp fall day that was Wednesday, Barb Stuart began her next journey. She was surrounded by family friends. We encircled her bed and her spirit with our love and wished her fair travels.
She was taken off the respirator and the extra paraphernalia was removed. She visibly seemed to relax into the bed. Believe it or not she began to snore. (Those of you who have been lucky enough to travel with Barb – know she snores when relaxed and resting peacefully). We stayed with her throughout the day, telling Barb, Barbara, and Mom stories and laughing together. Barb remained at peace and in no pain.


As the day wore on her blood oxygen levels continued to drop as was expected and consistent with her body shutting down. By evening, we decided to give Barb some time on her own and started our goodbyes. Jenny and Alex took a break - got some dinner and returned later in the evening for some last time alone with Barb. Barb passed away early this morning in the CCU. It was her body that stopped this morning. Her spirit was in that room with her friends and family, and has been nourished by all the love and care her friends and community have been sending her.

Barb made it clear she wanted no funeral or memorial. She wanted to be cremated and her ashes spread someplace remote and wild. She wanted no mourning only celebration. So Jenny has asked that we her friends, help plan a suitable celebration of Barb and her time with us. We are tentatively looking at a time early in December and will for Westbay and her home neighborhood. As more plans develop I will let you know.

Jenny and Alex are busy with the details or pulling the corners of a loved one's life together. You can send cards or your own memories of Barb to Jenny at her Seattle address:

Jenny Stuart
2613 E Aloha Street
Seattle, WA 98112

As I get more information I will continue to pass it on. You can continue to reach me via email:

ginny_stern@yahoo.com

Thank you for letting me be part of your connection with my dear friend Barb (Barbara or Mom). It has been an honor, a blessing and a gift I treasure..

Ginny



Sunday, October 19, 2008

New Rule Changes

I found some information on the new rules I thought I would share it with you all. Follow the links below to some a presentation on the new rules and the Rules showing the edits.

EDITED RULES RRS for 2009–2012

Presntation 2 - Changes to RRS for 2009-2012

Monday, October 6, 2008

Hope Island Race

Race Time 1200 October 11, 2008

As most of you know the Hope Island Dash is a race that is usually sailed by an individual when the spirit moves them and starts and finishes along a line that is the extension on the shoal mark and mark 4.

The full instruction are at the following link: http://www.ssssclub.com/race.htm#start

Starting and Finishing
We will not be doing the race at exactly the same way as given in the instruction since we will all be starting together. I will be on my Catalina 36 to start you using our normal 3 minute sequence at 1200. I will be on the extension of the line as described in the Hope Island Dash sailing instructions. You need to start between the committee and the shoal marker but you can finish on either side the committee boat from one side of Budd Inlet to the other. We will take your times based on the staring time and when you cross the line to finish.

Shortening Course
We will see what the conditions are for the race day. If there is little wind or it is from a direction that would make the race less than fun, I will take the temperature of the fleet and we could do some buoy races or we may drop a mark to round in lieu of going around the island. Look for Bill's boat it will be a mark boat should we shorten. The idea is to have fun racing and not bobbing around Budd Inlet all day and night.

Communication
If you have a cell phone, please have it on board so that you can contact me if you need a tow or other help during the race. I will ask you to call me on my cell at 360-239-8706 before the race so that I have your number. Gary Pedigo will be out on his boat out to help if you need it, and Jim Findley will be in Bill's boat as support. Please sail by the committee boat so that I can get your bow number and your names before the race, and contact me should you retire so that we don't have to look for you should you not finish.

Please comment if you have any questions or concerns.

Sunday, September 21, 2008

Star Meeting Notes 9/21/08

Race Schedule / Program
We had our fall meeting and there was a good group of us that discussed and voted on the proposition to change the racing program to have sailing on a single night of the week. After much discussion it was decided to keep it as we currently have it with Sailing on every other Monday and Thursday. Although the poll seemed to indicate otherwise, the difficulty comes in choosing a day that isn't in conflict with another SSSS activity or racing program. In the end those present decided to keep it as is.

In discussing what we could do better, the main issue was shortening the course and seeing the 'S' flag. We will look for ways to make it more visible and make sure that the sound signals are made when it is hoisted. If you want to make a comment about what we can do better next year for the racing program please do so on this page.

Black Star Chair
We need to have a committee chair for the Black Star next year. Since Myra wasn't at the meeting she was nominated and voted unanimously by those present. Thank you Myra for the work you have done in the past and we hope you will do it again.

District 6 Championships
Bill volunteered to chair the District 6 championship regatta committee. We will be looking for others to help with both the Black Star and the Districts. Tentatively we are looking at August 8 and 9. We will confirm the tides and make it official at the annual meeting next year.

Haul Out
We discussed the haul out dates. There will be one haul out the week after the Fall Regatta and another after the Hope Island Dash. We will be setting specific dates and asking all to indicate the date they want to haul out in the next few weeks.

Shop Dates
Bill asked that if you are going to have any major work done on your boat to schedule it early so that you will have enough time to get it done. Staring in January he wants to have the shop free to start bottom painting.

Bill Nominated
Steve Worcester announced that he has nominated Bill, on behalf of the Star Fleet, for the US Sailing Leadership award for this year. If anyone deserves this award it is Bill. Let's hope US Sailing agrees.

Comment if you were present at the meeting and I left anything out.